Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbishWhy do you think this is happening?What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

An urgent problem around the world is the huge production of garbage that our economic model generate day by day. In order to tackle this issue, it is important to identify the causes.

Our life style is one of the main factors of the uncontrolled production of rubbish around the world. The economic circuit need the constant consumption of products to keep stable. For that reason, companies through advertising encourage people to obtain the latest version of its products, discarding the oldest and generating immense amount of wastes. For instance, electronic garbage are a current menace to our environment and countries are not running effective policies to encourage recycling. In short, the are not a public awareness about the impact of these wastes on our environment and governments do not have solid policies to stop it.

On the other hand, our society have an excessive utilization of plastic and that generate uncontrolled volume of wastes. In daily life, plastic is in every place, covering vegetables, clothes, and bread. There are not a public aware about how we have an excessive use of it For example, latest scientific research warn about the high levels of plastic in oceans and how that is menacing sea-life. Thus, the current plastic problem is not a worldwide concern because, despite there a lot of campaigns on media, people is still using plastic everyday without relevant behaviour changes.

In order to deal with this problem, governments have an important role to regulate the massive production of garbage through restrictive laws to industry and shops. Besides, they should make compulsory the use of recycling materials in factories to re-use the plastic produced and decrease the their levels.

To conclude, the “use and throw” culture is the main cause of our excessive production of rubbish. Measures like obliged recycling it will be a relevant step to deal with this problem.