In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe money should be spent on improving existing public transport.. discuss both views and give your own opinion

There is an ongoing debate on which transport method should be improved. Some people favour if more highspeed intercity train tracks are implemented, and others prefer the development of existing communal transport facilities. In my view, both the above means of transportation should be developed because each facilitates different sets of commuters.

On the one hand, due to the lack of houses and lands in urban areas, people tend to shift to suburbs and rural areas for living, but these people must have a speedy and comfortable transport means to reach and exit urban areas, where most of the job opportunities are available. Therefore, by spending money on constructing highspeed intercity trains, these people can travel between their dwellings and workplaces comfortably without wasting valuable work time on heavily congested roads. The development of high-speed train infrastructure will help in the above scenario.

On the other hand, upgrading existing public transport means is also vital for a much energy efficient and cleaner environment in highly congested cities. In order to make cities more cleaner, low emission vehicles with battery power can be introduced, and more public transport methods like trams and light rail can be made available to reduce the usage of personal vehicles in the city limits, which can help to reduce both sound and air pollution in cities.

In conclusion, both high-speed intercity train transportations to be built and current public transportations are equally important in allocating money for them because each method has its unique benefits for society.