Once children start school the teachers have more influence on their intellectual and social development than parents To what extend do you agree or disagree

Many people believe that when children attend school, teachers will have more influence on the development of children’s intelligence and social skills. However, I do not agree with this view because I think parents will have more influence on children.

Well trained teachers help children in enhancing their knowledge and communication skills. Firstly, learning at school will give children a huge amount of new knowledge at school by teachers. Children also had been offered many chances to be creative and ask questions in many activities such as quizzes, competitions, school events. Furthermore, their interaction with people around will enhance their social skills such as communicating and searching. Teachers may help with children’s social networks by putting them into a small group which lets them learn how to make friends and expand their social connection.

On the other hand, parents will have a larger impact on children compared to teachers. Children stay at home more than at school, so they spend more time with parents to build a better connection than with teachers. Therefore, parents can give advice, discuss and explain various perspectives of life and the need to be good at intellectual and social skills. The other reason is that teachers keep changing when children go to another academic year but parents will be the same. For example, once children go into high school or universities, every subject will be taught by different professors while parents will always be around and affect their mental and social skills development.

To sum up, I totally disagree with this opinion. Both teachers and parents have an important and huge influence on children but due to better connections with their parents and safe feelings that affect their mental health, I don’t think teachers stand a chance of influencing children more than their own parents.