One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern era, advancement in medical science has reached new heights. It is often said that many diseases which were not curable in the past can be cured now. This has resulted in an improved longevity of human beings. In my view, the benefits of the longer life cycle are more than the drawbacks.

Perhaps the main advantage is that the increased life expectancy means that people would have more time to spend in the activities they are really keen on after retirement. Up to the age of retirement, individuals are often occupied with education and professional career having no time for themselves. For instance, elderly who are fond of traveling can now go on a world tour to see different sort of attractions. Furthermore, grandparents would have the option to spend quality time with their children and grandchildren.

Despite these arguments, many people feel that the rise in life expectancy has negative aspects for a number of reasons. Firstly, the government has to allocate a significant amount of budget for healthcare facilities which is a challenge in itself for underdeveloped countries because of limited resources. Secondly, people after retirement are not contributing to the economy of the country and are completely dependent on government welfare services, such as pensions schemes.

To sum up, longer life cycle puts an additional burden on the government; nevertheless, the people have more options to spend a quality life after the age of retirement.