Online education and training is becoming increasingly popular in the business world. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Advancement in technology and globalization encourage employers to keep up to date their employees so that they can meet the demands of people of the world by providing the latest web-based training courses. It seems to me that benefits clearly surpass the drawbacks of this trend.

On the one hand, there are few disadvantages of providing the online courses. One primary reason to consider is that quality and effectiveness of online course lag behind the efficacy those delivered in the traditional classroom methods. There are plethoras of skills which cannot be learnt through the digital medium such as management and leadership strategies, for those in-person training is the appropriate way. For instance, several multi-national companies, every year organize many crash courses of the great motivational speakers to inculcate the skills of positivity, effectiveness, ethics and behaviour, which they cannot achieve online.

However, the merits are argued significantly more. The first and foremost reason to consider is that e-learning offers businesses the opportunity to reduce their expenditure significantly. Providing face to face training is quite expensive in terms of the travel costs, living expenses and the geographical locations; computer-based training eliminates to pay the instructor to travel to your office and renders geographical locations. Another reason to consider is the flexibility in the online training courses. Employees have the choice to adopt the course according to their convenience and time availability because this platform provides several slots for the course. For example, Mooc courses provide the flexibility to take access to the course anytime and anywhere without specifying any limits.

To conclude, although the rise of computer-based education is very attractive in terms of reducing overheads, the blend of the face to face and online training give better outcomes.