The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home to work, shopping and education.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, traffic jams have become a tangled problem, which poses a credible threat throughout the world. Hence, it has been claimed that the necessity of daily travelling for work, education and shopping should be minimized to overcome this problem. In my opinion, it appears that this paradigm arguably fails to alleviate traffic jams because it is an impractical solution.

First, lessening the need for commuting seems elusive. Taking for granted that technological advancement has become inextricable in every discipline, but reducing the demand of people’s daily routine for work, education and shopping is impossible. This is because some jobs require from their employees to perform their works at the premises, as well as a significant portion of students attend their schools since they are not convinced of distant learning. For example, construction labourer, who build residences, cannot work remotely. Therefore, if the government implemented this plan, it would be unrealistic.

Second, there are more efficient approaches that are more likely to ease traffic congestion. One of these ways is to provide commuters with an impetus to travel by public transport. Thus, by using public transport, a substantial proportion of travellers will leave their vehicles, and this leads to reducing the traffic congestion. For instance, concerned authorities may enhance public transportation services, so people will be prompted to use them more, which helps to avoid heavy traffic.

In conclusion, minimizing the need to commute tend to be infeasible due to several reasons. Accordingly, I believe that to lessen traffic problems, the government would rather improve public transportation.