The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work,education or shopping.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Traffic congestion is one of the serious issues that most of the countries around the world are facing these days. Although, reducing the travel need from home to work or other important places is an important factor but it is not the only solution for traffic control, there are many other solutions also. In this essay, I will discuss why I completely disagree with the belief that reduced travel need is the only way to reduce traffic problem.

Although there is a big chunk of population who travel on a daily basis for various activities and play a vital role in contributing to traffic inconsistencies. Due to recent environment friendly initiatives many companies have started to offer work from home options and there is a common trend of home schooling too. However, these steps alone do not have significant impact on traffic congestion control per my understanding. Other possible ways such as better public transport system, population control and enhanced infrastructure also contribute a bigger role towards reducing the traffic related problems. Moreover, online shopping is on its peak and has already proven better advantages. we can shop almost everything starting from needle to airplane through internet, thus reducing the need for travel and hence lowering considerable percentage of traffic.

Last but not the least in my opinion one of the major factor of clutter on roads is due to the unorganized or unskilled driving too. Person should only be allowed to drive if he/she is skilled enough to follow all the rules laid down by traffic regulation. This will not only help to cut down the burden on roads but also control the casualties caused due to accidents.

In conclusion, there are many other effective ways to lower the traffic problem. Cutting down the travel need is not the only solution for this problem.