The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

I am totally convinced that traffic these days has increased significantly specially in the big cities. There is no one reason for that. All of us now want to get rid of this enormous congestion on the way to our daily commute. To do that some of us might want to lessen the daily requirements to travel for school work or shopping. As it is a completely impractical solution, I totally disagree with this though. I believe it is not at all possible to cut down all the need to travel rather there are other ways that are more practical and meaningful.

Increasing the usage of public transport is probably the best way to reduce traffic significantly. Now-a-days traffic congestion is mainly caused by private vehicles. A public bus can carry forty to sixty passengers at a time whereas a car taking same space is only capable of carrying four to five persons at most. Hence, usage of public buses would clearly make a difference on congestion reduction. For example, most of the developed countries have improved and saved working hours by using public transports instead of own vehicles. Therefore, government can encourage people to not by own vehicles rather use public transport for their daily transportation.

Better transport system and control can play an important role to undertake the heavy responsibility of reducing traffic jam. The government can Identify the heavy-duty roads and widen them as required. That not only will help to reduce the traffic but also lower the waste of fuel. For example, president of Malaysia, executed this plan as the first step of traffic reduction project. Though at the beginning he received a lot of negative criticism but later he managed to prove his decision was right with an effective result. He also ensured a strict and transparent traffic control system that proven to be successful later.

To sum up, some basic needs of daily travel can be reduced such as by shopping online, working from home or home education. However, other options as mentioned above can be more efficient and practical. So base on that, realistic approaches should be chosen that doesn't cause any inconvenience to our daily life.