Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

I am convinced, human life expectancy has increased considerably in last few decades. Therefore, many of us think that age limit of retirement should also be adjusted accordingly. I do not completely agree with this perception as I believe it depends much on the type of work. Plenty of jobs need the employee to be physically strong where as others do not. So the decision of extending working timeline should not be taken based on age limit only.

Extension of retirement age would definitely help people to stay independent longer. Now-a-days, we some how fail to take care of the older people in the family as we tend to focus more on our own life. It won't do any harm if people keep earning in their old ages. Rather, by doing so apart from being self sufficient they can support their family if necessary. For example, my grand father was capable of taking of his entire family even after his sixty's as he kept earning from his own business. That no only allowed him to stay independent but also helped to avoid some perplexing situation related to family expense. Therefore, earning for longer period will make things much easier.

During the old age, most of the people might not be able to perform as expected in their workplaces. A number of jobs need the employee to be competent both physically and mentally. For example, jobs of defense officers, air traffic control or expensive projects in extreme environment. In such important occupations, an old person can not be expected to be the in-charge even though he or she is highly experienced. Furthermore, such incapable occupants might resulting in life threatening disasters not only to him/her but also to others. So it is crucial to consider the type of job before providing extension.

To sum up, though increasing age limit for retirement can be proven to be positive in several circumstances, it can also horrible if the competency based on the nature of the job is not considered. So the extension should not be provided only based on the increase of the life expectancy. Because for some people it is still be safe to live on pension and not being proven incapable.