Overpopulation in many major urban centers around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

Majority of the population is crowded in main cities which is leading to a crucial problem of overpopulation. This essay will discuss the main causes of this such as concentrated development only in one city and lack of proper planning in enhancing the infrastructure in smaller cities. This essay will also suggest solutions like development of infrastructure in tier two cities and generation of employment in smaller cities through encouraging local businesses.

The problem of excessive population growth in major cities is due to the concentrated development in one city and planning failure to develop smaller cities at the same time. This can be attributed to the sudden boom in the technically skilled jobs which needed ready infrastructure. Due to such a sudden necessity, the government concentrated more on developing the existing city with good infrastructure and this led to lack of development in smaller cities which had the potential to provide desired economic results. For example, in a developing country like India, Delhi had enough infrastructure to accommodate the sudden growth of jobs, so the government concentrated on developing the same city even more, but they neglected one of the smaller cities like Lucknow which had enough land area, connectivity, and potential to create the same impact. Due to such act of government, the city of Lucknow remains underdeveloped compared to Delhi. Hence, for such planning failure of government, there is an imbalanced growth between the cities which eventually led to excessive population in major cities.

As the saying goes, ‘Every problem has in it the seeds of its own solution,’ there are solutions for the above discussed problems as well. The government needs to classify all the important cities which are facing problem of excessive population and then they need to identify smaller cities which have enough resources both in terms of human power and infrastructure. Then they should develop policies to encourage the local business which eventually create employment for locals. If they can pull this act, then the migration of population from smaller cities can be curbed. For example, a smaller city which is rich in agricultural resources receives support from the government, then there will be more of investment into the agricultural businesses, by which they can create more employment. Therefore, above mentioned are the few solutions which can control overpopulation.

To conclude, for a country to progress in long run, there needs to be a balanced developmental approach between major and smaller cities. This essay discussed the problems why major cities get overcrowded such as concentrated growth and lack of proper planning. This essay also suggested solutions such as developing infrastructure in smaller cities and boosting local businesses through developmental policies.