Parents of obese children should be punished for making their children fat. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people claim that parents of overweight children should be penalized for allowing their offsprings to gain extra weight. However I disagree with the statement for the following reasons.

To begin with, mothers and fathers are not presented at school most of the time to ensure the young ones consume healthy food and have enough of physical activity . Many pupils prefer to eat fast food and sugary snacks because children are tend to choose delicious food over healthy one. And schools provide them with such opportunities by installing snack machines in school’s premises and offer unhealthy food in a school’s canteen. This type of everyday dietary accompanied with sedentary lifestyle can lead to obesity. Since parents cannot influence their childrens’ behavior while they are at school they cannot be fully responsible and if their offsprings become overweight.

Moreover, genetics play a crucial role in children’s’ obesity. If there are relatives who suffer from overweight in a family history, there is a high chance that their sons and daughters will inherit this condition. A recent study showed that genetically predisposed individuals develop obesity in 65% cases and neither extensive physical activity nor strict diet facilitates to a significant loss of fat in this occasion. Therefore, since parents are not able influence genetic factors they should not be blamed and subsequently punished for the shape of their children.

In conclusion, I disagree that parents are to be condemned and penalized for their children’s’ obesity because they are not always has a control over them and there are genetic factors that can’t be overcome.