In many countries children are engaged in different kinds of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it a valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility. What is your opinion?

All around the globe youngsters earn money by doing various types of work. It’s claimed by some people that’s a rather negative phenomenon ,whereas other believe children attain many benefits from the work experience. I am of the opinion that children should not take jobs as it would negatively effect some imperative areas of their lives impeding a healthy progression into an adult.

To begin with, a job would have a detrimental impact on children’s education. It’s necessary to spend sufficient amount of time on studying in order to successfully graduate from a school. However, an obligation to go to work may prevent a child from attending all classes, completing tasks and preparing for tests and exams due to a lack of time. Consequently, academic performance of these children may deteriorate and even result in expelling from school. It was evidenced by a recent research, that 65% of pupils received lower overall results if they have had part time jobs during semesters. Poor performance at school or failure to graduate may ruin opportunities for children to obtain a better career in the future.

Another argument that should be considered is that job duties may negatively influence children’s social development. Socializing and building friendships with peers is indispensable for a healthy development of a child. However, work environment is not suitable for children’s interaction with other people because often they are employed for manual routine work with merely occasional and rare social contacts limited to taking orders from their manager. This may result in isolation of a young individual and subsequently lead to difficulties in establishing healthy relationships with other people in the years to come.

To conclude, I believe strongly that an employment causes harm to children’s growth because their education and communication with peers suffers. Therefore, studying and meeting with friends should be a priority for a child to ensure a healthy development and therefore a prosperous future as an adult.