Parents of obese children should be punished for making their children fat. Do you agree or disagree?

Childhood obesity is becoming a grave concern as children from different demographics of the world are becoming morbidly obese. It has been argued that mothers and fathers should be penalized for the excessive weight of their offspring. This essay, however, disagrees with this notion as parents cannot look after their child’s calorific allowance all day and genetic factors also play a crucial role in a child’s healthy physique.

Nowadays, children spend a significant amount of time at schools, where parents are absent to supervise their offspring’s diet. Obviously, most of the pupils at school love to eat at their school’s cafeteria, which usually serves unhealthy food options, and makes the pupils pre-disposed to carrying extra weight. For instance, a survey carried out by WHO suggests that a child consumes 75% of its daily calorific allowance during attending classes at school. Therefore, punishing parents for the unhealthy food being served by schools is preposterous.

Apart from this, an individual’s genes and metabolism is also accountable in deciding whether one will gain weight or stay fit. Since genetic factors cannot be controlled by parents, they should not be punished for this because this factor is out of the control of them. To put it another words, how a mom can be given punishment for the sluggish metabolism of her son or daughter. Thus, mother and father are not at all eligible for any kind of penalisation for this issue.

To conclude, mom and dads of overweight offspring cannot be punished for their child’s weight issues because they are unable to look after their dietary pattern and are not to be blamed for genetic abnormalities.