In the past, most people spent their entire career working for one company, whereas people nowadays move from one job to another.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of each? Which do you think is better?

It has been observed for quite a few years that young people are frequently switching their employers whereas, in the past, people rarely used to change their jobs. A vast majority of the people used to stay with one company till their retirement. In this essay, I will discuss the benefits and drawbacks with relevant reasons and examples. I strongly believe that they should change their jobs when required because technology is becoming increasingly popular day by day.

To begin with, nowadays, there are numerous positive aspects of switching employers. One of the main facts is that switching jobs provide them a fast growth and a more successful career. The major reason behind this fast growth is that they perform better and learn new technological skills at a fast pace. Whereas in the past, people spent their whole life with one company because a less number of options for skills were available in the job market. Another point which could be made is that they are earning more money and getting more benefits by changing their jobs. Nowadays, there are a plethora of advanced and highly paid skills which are popular in the job market. The machine learning, for instance, the advanced skillset, which is popular and high in demand, is highly paid profession and provides a fast growth. Thus, the people, who are having this skillset change their jobs more frequently.

On the other hand, despite these advantages of switching jobs, there are some negative things as well. One of the main drawbacks of the switching jobs is that the company does not offer a higher position to the employees, who joined recently. Second negative point is that it takes more time to understand the company's business. If someone is switching his or her jobs frequently then he or she will suffer in understanding the company’s business and strategy, such as the company's long term goals. For example, many young employees, who joined the company recently, has to work hard to understand the company's business.

As per my understanding, in today’s modern era, the young generation is growing at a very fast speed. However, while we talk about advanced skillset, the youngsters are keen to learn new and advanced technologies at a fast pace. They are growing day by day. It is not only benefitting the companies, it also helps them to enhance their skill set and increase their salaries. Many multinational companies, for instance, offer some advanced courses which could help people to learn new skills and increase their salaries.

To sum up, despite some advantages of switching jobs, there are some benefits as well, such as high salaries, and advanced skillset. I personally also think that they should switch their jobs frequently to grow in their professional career.