People are living in a ‘throwaway society’, using things for a short time and then throwing them away. What are the causes of this? What problems does it lead to?

With the rising trend in consumerism, people buy new and dispose old stuff constantly. This essay will highlight the common causes behind this pattern and consequences emerged from this.

Coming towards the causes, firstly, variety in items seems to be the prime factor. This could be linked with the advent of global marketing which provide access to international products leading to diversity in choices. This not only facilitates buyers with numerous options but also help in provision of cheaper item. For example, Chinese machines in market has helped many small entrepreneurs to setup their business in much less startup costs. Secondly, advancement in technology is also a substantial contributor in this phenomenon, as it allure people's mind toward purchasing brand new products with latest features; such as smart phones, which come in newer version and models, automatically altering the needs.

While discussing the outcomes, first of all, delusional needs are created where people purchase things that do not really matter, for instance, trending and fashionable clothes whose importance become vague after launch of next fashion. This interrupt the money flow and culminates in inflation. Additionally, manufacturing of new items and disposed of old ones causes immense environmental issues, such as global warming and rise in non-degradable plastic content resulting in subsidized standard of living for all.

In conclusion, the general bias could be linked to many causes, such as availability of choices and technological improvements, which results in disruption of money flow in society and also could be attached with the increase in environmental problems.