People behavior and ways of life vary (greetings, table manner and clothing) from country to country. It is sometimes said that when people are visiting another country, for example on business or for a holiday, they should behave in the same way as the inhabitants of that country. Do you agree or disagree?

Today, the travel industry has contributed to global connectivity. Further, travel on business or for a holiday is a necessity for most professionals working in international firms. This essay completely agrees with the statement that people should behave and change the way of greeting locals or table mannerism when in other country. The changes in behavior during a visit can both be satisfying and bonding experience for everybody.

Firstly, adopting and adapting to the new cultural requirement can be rewarding. It is a wonderful opportunity to try and understand the cultural differences and appreciate the fashion sense or manners of people in other country. For example, when an American visits India and tries to eat local dishes such as “Idly” with their hand, the experience may be satisfying. Hence, it is beneficial to be a roman in Rome.

Secondly, it is important to connect with other nationals for understanding of their culture. Learning by experience is the key to taking home elements of the place. If a Canadian learn to use “Namaste” or “Jai Sri Krishna” from in travel to India for instance instead of using “Hi” or “Hello” to greet, it can be wonderful way to connect with the Indian community when you are back from vacation to Canada. This can cultivate empathy towards other nationals.

To conclude, people change the way of life when in other country and should do it when they visit on business or on holiday. In my opinion, I completely agree with it as there is no harm to change your greeting words or way of eating for complete understanding of local way of life in another country.