People behavior and ways of life vary (greetings, table manner and clothing) from country to country. It is sometimes said that when people are visiting another country, for example on business or for a holiday, they should behave in the same way as the inhabitants of that country. Do you agree or disagree?

Today, the travel industry has contributed to global connectivity. Further, travel on business or for a holiday is a necessity for most professionals working in international firms. This essay completely agrees with the statement that people should behave and change the way of greeting locals or table mannerism when in other country. The changes in behavior during a visit can both be satisfying and bonding experience for everybody and will be discussed further in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, adopting to the new cultural requirement of another country can be rewarding. It is a wonderful opportunity to try and understand the cultural differences and appreciate the fashion sense or manners of people in other country. For example, when an American visits India and tries to eat local dishes such as “Dosa” with their hand, the experience may be satisfying. Further, the experience of eating by hand is new learning experience. Hence, it is beneficial to be a roman in Rome.

Secondly, it is important to connect with other nationals by greeting used locally for understanding of their culture. Learning by experience is the key to taking home elements of the place. If a Canadian learn to use “Namaste” or “Jai Sri Krishna” from in travel to India for instance instead of using “Hi” or “Hello” to greet, it can be wonderful way to connect with the Indian community when they get back from India to Canada. This can improve understanding of Indians in Canada.

In conclusion, people change the way of life when they are visiting other country and is beneficial to do it when they visit on business or on holiday. In my opinion, I completely agree with it as there is no harm to change your greeting words or way of eating for complete understanding of local way of life in another country.