People nowadays work hard to buy more things This has made our lives generally more comfortable but many traditional values and customs have been lost and this is a pity To what extent do you agree or disagree

Living in the age of information, we encounter all sorts of advertisements each time we watch TV, browse online or wait for buses. In my opinion, advertisements nowadays have been overused and encourage us to buy things that we really do not need. As a previous designer in marketing, I understand that for any advertisement, the ultimate goal is to sell more products. And so the advertisement business manipulate our needs in three ways:

Firstly, advertisements sell the products to us by exaggerating anxieties. For example, advertisements for slim products sometimes describe slim bodies as the only reason to gain love, esteem and even job promotion, which is not true. But girls who saw these advertisements will feel more anxious than they should be, and thus buy the product to feel relieved.

Secondly, in order to sell more products, the products are unnecessarily divided to various subcategories. This method of selling is most used in beauty products. The advertisement tells you that there should be four steps when you clean your face, and the result is that people have to buy 4 facial products when previously one bottle could be enough.

Thirdly, advertisement agencies are very good at reinventing an existing fact by giving it a new name. The new name implies that it is a new thing to try. In that way, people keep buying things, without awareness, that they may already possess.

Described above are three ways how advertisements get us to buy more than we actually need. By understanding how they work, we could carefully avoid been manipulated. After all, happiness is not defined by advertisements, nor by how many things we possess. I hope we could all focus on our real needs and live a simpler but happier life.