People should choose their course of study not on the basis of their own interests, but based on the kinds of jobs they can get.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It has been argued for quite a long time whether people should pick their academic subjects according to their interest or as per jobs available in the industry. However, while I strongly disagree with the statement that people should select education streams on the basis of availability of the jobs, I believe they should choose it according to their interest. In this essay, I will provide some compelling evidence further to support my agreement.

With regards to interest, people perform effectively and efficiently when they get a job in the area of their own interest. Effectiveness helps them to achieve milestones in their professional careers and efficiency helps them to succeed at fast speed. Moreover, if people work on tasks related to their hobby then they do better, creative, and faster. Because of their inbuilt desire, they perform efficiently and improve themselves at a high speed. For instance, athletes’, who are energetic and keen interested in sports since their childhood, do better in sports activities because of their interest.

On the other hand, if people pick their educational streams as per the job market then they would not be able to perform that specific job perfectly. Furthermore, working hard at work without any interest in the job could lead to frustration among people. Consequently, people would fail at their jobs or in their professional careers. To exemplify, in many multinational companies, software engineers, who are forced to do this job due to the wide availability of this profession, have to develop logical applications without their interest which leads to application functionality failure because of incorrect logic created by them.

To sum up, people should choose their academic course subjects according to their curiosity and interest which could help them do a job in the area of their hobby. On the other hand, they should not be forced to work in the area where they can get jobs easily, otherwise, it would become difficult for them to survive in their professional careers.