People visiting other countries should adapt to the customs and behaviors expected there. They should not expect the host country to welcome different customs and behaviors. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Tourists are expected to be adaptable to the customs and behaviors but also not to expect tolerance to their practices in foreign nations. While I completely agree with this notion due to several reasons, I believe that they must be accommodating to the expected behavior towards their own cultures.

In my opinion, firstly, due omnipresent information, locals now expect the tourists to have meager knowledge about etiquettes, since all the pre-requisites are now over government websites and blogs for the vacationers to review. Secondly, they also think that their culture is superior to others. For instance, in some Middle Eastern countries, it is forbidden to wear revealing clothes on beaches, if found guilty, they could be fined or tried in the court of law. In general, travellers must try to abide by local rules and regulations.

I also believe that they must be open to all kind of conduct by the residents since they are in a society alien to them. Locals at some destinations are used to dealing with all kinds of globe-trotters, so they might develop stereotypes. Because of this, they can either expect a friendly or a hostile behavior. In some places, the communities are open to immigrant’s cultures and participate in it, where either the economy relies on tourism or the communities are amicable. So, both welcoming and rude attitudes can be expected from the inhabitants.

In conclusion, while holidaymakers in host nations must try to learn the local conventions beforehand, they must adjust to behavior they might experience.