Wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a waste of resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that it is needless to conserve wildlife, as it is a wasteful use of resources. I disagree with this notion as I believe that this idea is selfish and unethical. At the same time, its protection is entirely necessary.

To begin with, it is preposterous to argue over having no place for wild animals in this century. In the past, humans and wildlife have been thriving together. So why suddenly, humans have now forgotten, without any compelling reason, except to fulfil their own greed, that other stakeholders must be wiped out? For instance, poaching, trophy hunting has been on the rise, bluntly disregarding the social beings that live in such areas. Furthermore, it is savagely amoral to forcefully destroy the habitats of the fauna, keeping personal interests over common welfare. Thus, it is a parasitic behaviour to overtake, which was once a commonplace.

On the other hand, I think that safeguarding these living beings is not only entirely necessary, but also a good use of resources. Firstly, they are an inspiration to decrease our environmental impact as they can invoke feelings of sympathy and compassion, causing people to become conscious of the damaging effects to their lifestyles. Secondly, they help to strike an ecological balance. For instance, the predators at the top of the food chain, hunt the prey animals, which in turn check their population and at the same time preserve the essential plant life. In this way, a balance is maintained in the food chain. thus, saving these entities not only keep us in check of our living styles, but also helps to maintain ecological balance.

In conclusion, I believe that it is acutely important to save the fauna and it is unprincipled to ever consider them as wasteful for us.