Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment.

What damage does plastic do to the environment?

What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

With the proliferation of the population the demand for packaged goods has increased tremendously although, the plastic used to pack the goods and commodities has been damaging the environment for ages. This essay will discuss the problems it caused to our ecosystems. This essay will outline possible solutions to the above-mentioned problem.

To begin with, plastic is a non-degradable substance thus, disturbing nature's cycle abjectly. Plastic waste such as water bottles, straw, and spoons are being dumped into the ocean causing endangered species to extinction. For example, fishes and turtles are dying because of the consumption of indigestible plastic floating in the water. Plastic present in soil by covering landfills has detrimental effects on the survival of plants and insects. If plastic stopped being dumped into the ocean, marine life could flourish once again. Therefore, necessary actions should be taken to overcome this issue.

Using reusable materials by individuals and by imposing a heavy tax on plastics by the government will help curb the issue. For example, the government can provide tax subsidy to companies for not using plastic packaging. On the other hand, the government can impose heavy tax on plastic production companies. Moreover, consumers should avoid using non-renewable materials whereas, should use metal or glass-made utensils to fulfill their needs. Therefore, efficient and effective measures by the government and individuals can save mother Earth.

In conclusion, this essay discussed throwing plastic waste in land and water has deteriorated our environment. This essay discussed solutions to the problem are twofold: imposing a tax on plastic production and consumption and promoting the use of biodegradable substances rather than plastic.