At present, the media affects people’s lives significantly.

What impact does this have on society? Is it negative or positive

development?

Television and print media are creating a substantial effect on the lives of the general public. This has resulted in biased thinking among society, and it is undoubtedly an unfavourable development.

To embark upon, people follow the current affairs regularly, and the majority of their decisions are influenced by the latest news. In other words, they believe in everything which they read in newspapers and watch on television. Even they believe in fake news which is only based on rumours to misguide public at large. To illustrate, there was a news on some television channels that Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal said against the people who are coming to Delhi from Bihar for medical treatments. Later on, it was found that media has created a fabricated version by editing the original video and he actually said something else. Nevertheless, it even created the false image of Mr. Kejriwal in my mind also at first but afterwards, I was able to clear my misconception.

The above-mentioned scenario is adverse because news agencies generally focus on destructive and detrimental elements that are poising the minds of people and affecting their lives severely. Much fake news about the inter-community violence flashes daily all over the channels, which are spreading communal hatred among the communities. Not only that, how these houses spread the news is also provocative. There was news, for instance, in many newspapers that a Hindu man was killed by Muslims in Bihar. The said killing was due to a personal dispute, not any religious matter. However, media spread that as communal violence which resulted in disturbance and conflicts among both religions all over the country. Therefore, it can be said that this strong influence of media could divide and damage society.

In conclusion, the media affect the thinking of the public greatly, and it is harmful to society as it is raising communism and causing disturbance among people.