Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic:

The idea of having a single career is becoming an old fashioned one. The new fashion will be to have several careers or ways of earning money and further education will be something that continues throughout life.

Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

The notion of adhering with one profession is obsoleting and new emerging trend is in favor of multiple careers and to remain lifelong student. I believe this trend will continue to grow more and more.

The most valuable benefit people perceive with single profession is stability in job and become expert. It is believe that people who practice same profession over the years understand the nitty-gritty of that profession and become assets for an organization they work for, thereby such people enjoy the stability in career and do not apprehend about retrenchment at work place. For instance, my father who has forty five years of experience in electric transformer has never been sacked owing to expertness in his field.

Nevertheless, such conception and reality are diminishing and becoming things of the past. There are various reasons for it. Firstly, in every field, most of the jobs are done with the help of technology, resulting less reliance on individual’s skills and knowledge, and therefore employees are always subject to be redundant at any point in their career. Secondly, technology changes very rapidly and jobs in market follow the changes. It is sheer truth that even loyal and old employees suffer in the organization, if they lack the hands-on on new concepts or demands and eventually get paid lower salary in contrast to their colleagues or junior who possess multitude of latest skills. A case in a point is information technology field where programming model changes every five years and my company gives preference to professional who can execute work in new area.

Finally, there have never been so many things to buy than now and in order to relish the possession of costly items, an extra income is preferred or absolutely leaves no choice for a person who wishes to live luxurious life.

To recapitulate, changing technology and job demand force people to update on latest technology and grab new education. Also modern life style propel people to work extra to generate more income, may be from different profession for satisfying needs.