Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic:

The idea of having a single career is becoming an old fashioned one. The new fashion will be to have several careers or ways of earning money and further education will be something that continues throughout life.

You should write at least 250 words.

Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Cost of living of our society is increasing exponentially these days, therefore many people believe that single profession for earning is not enough like earlier, and everyone should opt for multiple careers at the same time. I do accord with this notion, and will explain in my further paragraphs.

To embark on, as the economy of our nation is growing day-by-day, the expenditure on daily needs are also increasing. There is no doubt that salary of a professional is also increasing as compare to decade ago. However, the rise of living cost and earning level are not raising at the same pace. Therefore, income from one occupation is not enough for a person to run his family. Many employees are looking a second option for earning, and they are enrolling themselves in new vocational trainings or in higher education, which help them to pursue additional career option in co-ordination with the current one. For instance, most of the graduate professionals opt for distance MBA or Executive MBA, which allow them to have an additional degree without discontinuing the current occupation. Later, they can get salary hike as well, after completing the new degree.

Furthermore, do not we get bored by doing same repetitive job every day? A recent survey done by a university shows that most the employees are doing their job because of financial need, not because they love it. If a person can start a job or work which is his/her hobby, he/she always stay happy. Because of this, current generation opt for a second profession, which is his/her hobby or passion such as photography, singing etc. This addition job not only make them happy, but also make them efficient in their current job in addition to extra income. Moreover, the world has become a global village due to development in transportation, and due to the enhancement in social media apps, everyone shares the beauty scenery of the different places, which attract everyone to travel here and there. Therefore, need for money has also increased compare to the past.

To recapitulate, as the cost of living, and day-to-day demands have increased, the multi career option has become a trend among the new generation.