Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no special knowledge of the following topic:

News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

You should write at least 250 words.

Apart from working in a news agency, the News Editors main job is to choose what information needs to be broadcast on television and articles published in the newspaper. I think that news should be genuine and immediately reported irrespective of good or bad kind of news.

To commence with, I believe the decision of content that needs to be shared with the public is based on the three major factors. Broadly, the first one is authenticity and crime stories which need to be covered immediately to alert the citizens. Emergency alerts like tsunamis and floods are broadcasted continuously. The second one is the question of which story or article will be profitable to the company. From per business perspective, the news which are more flashy will earn more. Furthermore, few people like to watch some columns like the economy, sports, art, and accommodation more like commercial articles. The makes a whole bunch of information as per the survey, the editor tries to catch the eye of diverse viewers.

However, to entertain yourself, people have become addicted to watching bad news. This is because most people like learning thrilling news unless it is not related to someone. For instance, the column, a weekly episode of Crime Patrol is the most-watched about bad news. If this remains to continue for a few more years, people can have a bad influence on others. To balance the mindset of the people, the good news should be reported more compared to the negative news. This will help to inspire those who are in actual need provided that the bad ones are not that important to be skipped.

To sum up, in order to maintain the balance in society, the content is to be purely decided on the basis of the need of an hour. However, there should be a separate page of news which is good too.