You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no special knowledge of the following topic:

News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

You should write at least 250 words.

The media is known to be the watchdog of democracy, to inform the public of the latest news and to keep transparency as the pinnacle of journalism. What are the features which makes one news editor publish a particular news and not one another? This essay explains more about the role of news editors, their decisions and good and bad news.

News Editors choose what to air on television and what to publish in newspapers. This is a fact and there are several reasons which might lead to that. Some news editors can be bribed in monetary or non-moneraaty terms to side with politicians to bring up news which the latter want to be portrayed. For instance, there is an American news channel which always show content which will mirror a specific politician in a favourable light even though that politician has been indulged in criminial acts. Another example which may inflluence the decision of news editors might be competition and money. In a nutshell, the earliest a news agency gets a scoop, more viewers tune in and readership skyrockets, which propulses that agency on top of the foodchain.

The majority of people become accustomed to bad news. Indeed, there are unfortunately more bad news than good ones so eventually people become used to them. Research shows that the more someone read or listen to bad news, his or her perspective on life changes as he or she automatically becomes a negative person.

It would be better if more good news were shared. Unfortunately, sharing of good news remain an utopia. For example, most news editors would publish bad news only as it attracts more people, good news are not that alluring. After all, controversy creates cash!