You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this?

What solutions can you suggest?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, many nations have a question in front of them that many of their young population is not aware about latest news. This is due to the fact that teenagers of 21st century neither follow news on TV nor read newspapers. The following paragraphs will explain the causes and their solutions to change the scenario.

Firstly, due to media’s representation of a particular case has dramatically changed over the years, its validation is always questioned by experts. Any news is just a hypothetical view of a journalist pictured and published from their imagination. This has led to various versions of information and indirectly causing less interest to catch any teenager’s eye. A better way is to scrutinize the information published by all the media which can be done under governments surveillance. This can in turn provide cases with genuine news and validated information so that people can rely on the author’s viewpoint.

Furthermore, articles which discuss issues about poverty, corruption and political parties have always been in limelight by media. Young people opine that these issues are already surfacing in the nation but nobody is discussing about the solution to resolve them. As a result, repetition of the same facts and figures which does not attract new generation people has deprived them from following news channels and reading newspapers. One good solution can be diversification about topics such as creating news based on business ideas, future entrepreneurs, development of infrastructure and facilities around the nation can really generate teenager’s viewership to greater extent.

To sum up, followers of news channels and newspapers have drastically fall amongst young population due to publication of fake and repetitive news over the years. In my view, if news is created based on authentic information as well as covers wide range on subjects, it will increase the popularity within the teenagers.