Write about the following topic:

In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this?

What solutions can you suggest?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Today adolescents have limited interest in reading news in newspapers as well as in news programs. However,there are many causitive factors which are responsible for this.In the following paragraphs, I will explain the causes of this behaviour of pupils and also its solutions.

To commence with, technology and the academic burden are the two major contributors that are responsible for distracting the children from getting news. On the one hand, video games and mobile phones

primarly participate in the diversion of the curiosity of youngsters towards curret affairs , due to the fact, children spend majority of their time in watching cartoons and playing games. For example, a survey showed that majority of the social applications such as Tick-tock has negative effect on pupils. On the other hand, the multiple subjects in school curriculum do not allow students to give attention to other things, which ultimately deteriorates their coginitive development.

However, there are certain corrective measures that can be utilized to tackle this situation.Firstly, parents should put some restriction on their wards for using electronic gadgets, other than that, they can schedule a particular time that young ones can utilize to read newspapers, which would further help in their holistic development. Moreover, educational institutes should persuade newspaper reading in schools and they should evaluate students current knowledge related to news.

To conclude, it is clear that youngsters are loosing interest in news and current affairs because of the major impact of technology in their lives as well as increased syllabus in schools. Nevertheless, there are certain solutions like proper supervision by parents, teachers which can alter this situation and would be beneficial for the children .