Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Advertising has a vital role to play when it comes to buying of items. Many say that advertisements lead us in a way that we get attracted to purchase the products even if we do not need them. I completely disagree with this statement and in following paragraphs, I will be explaining my point of view.

Firstly, advertisement is a best medium through which companies can sell their products to mass people. Many a times we are even not aware about the products that are available in market. In this case, sellers publicize through various modes and create awareness about the products that are newly introduced in the market. For instance, recently I discovered that Samsung has launched a multi-purpose vacuum cleaner that can provide comfort in our day to day life to whole new level. They next day I purchased the product and within a week I could sense that this gadget had reduced my work to one fourth time that earlier cleaning used to take. It made my life much simpler and productive that I could give my time to do other things. This made me realize that sometimes newly invented products shall be advertised heavily to reach its benefits to maximum people in community.

Moreover, it also depends on human tendency of buying products which are available over the counter on regular basis. There are products marketed by companies which are renowned worldwide but if it is of no use to any particular person they will definitely not purchase them. For example, if someone is living in a country where temperature hardly falls below 10 degrees Celsius in winter, it would be of no use for that person to buy any woolen clothes even if it is sold by multi-national brands. Hence purchase requirement of the products are majorly derived by the perspective and requirements of the buyers and not by advertisements.

To conclude, advertisements contribute to enhance our knowledge about various products available in the market which in turn can make our lives trouble-free. In my view, publicizing about products via media is necessary to create awareness about the products.