The prevention of health problems and health illness is more important than treatment and medicine. Government funding should reflect this. To what extent do you agree.

Nowadays health related diseases are on rise globally due to the sedentary lifestyle of people therefore it becomes challenging for governments to not only offer treatment and medicine but also run health care programs which can help prevent such illness. In my opinion I completely agree with the notion that government funding needs to focus on prevention of such diseases rather than treatment as it is better to prevent a disease and not spent millions of dollars to find a cure. In the below paragraphs I will elucidate and present relevant examples in support of my opinion.

First and foremost in both developing and developed countries lifestyle diseases are on a rise. One of most common reasons identified is obesity which creates other health related complications like high blood pressure, heart attacks, diabetes therefore it becomes necessary for government to organize health camps and spread awareness about eating healthy diets. Since such diseases happens due to lack of awareness in people. For Instance in India government is taking such initiatives whereby they organize monthly health awareness camps in schools and colleges to educate juveniles on importance of healthy diet and exercise on their body.

Secondly it is also undeniable fact that there are many incurable diseases like cancer/HIV which are on a rise therefore government should spend most of its funds on awareness programs rather than finding a cure for such incurable diseases. For instance as per the report from a leading newspaper in United Kingdom it was published that the local government has spent billions of pounds on some research programs to find a cure for cancer and HIV thus wasting the tax payers money. On the other hand government in Singapore has the lowest cancer/HIV rates as they have introduced many programs for health awareness and even heavily taxed the tabbaco products.

In conclusion with the above examples it is clear that prevention is always better than cure therefore in my opinion government should spend money on health awareness programs.