Some people think that developing countries need financial help from international organizations. Others think that it is practical aid and advice that is needed. Discuss these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that international bodies should only provide relief and consultation to developing countries rather than financial help. In my opinion third world countries need monetary support from developed world as they don’t have funding for implementation of large-scale projects due to poor economy. This essay will discuss both views with relevant examples and conclude with an opinion.

First and foremost most of the poor nations are unable to sustain burden of large infrastructure projects like building of airports, railways tracks, dams and hospitals which are needed for improving the life and economy therefore they need investments from global organizations who can propel the growth of the country. These investments not only help in short-term but also give employment opportunities to the local population. For instance Philippines is taking funding for establishing telecommunications infrastructure from China Investment agency. This project will help to bringing better connectivity and bridging the digital divide in the country which has the slowest internet connection in the world.

Similarly on the other side for those who would say that only practical aid and advice are needed I would like disagree with this. In many third world countries there is no shortage of skill set be it scientists, doctors or engineers who can execute any task efficiently as in a first world country. For instance India wanted to carry out high-speed train connectivity from Delhi to Mumbai for which engineering surveys and approvals had already been given by the government however such plans could not be executed due to lack of financial assistance therefore the project was shelved.

To conclude, it is evident from the above examples that financial aid is of utmost importance which can help in sustainable growth of developing nations therefore first world countries must provide monetary aid than anything else.