Question: Recent research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes after they are released. Why is this the case? What can be done to solve this problem.

A study conducted has revealed that a number of people perform criminal activities after setting free from the prison. This essay suggests that the difficulty faced by them to become financial stable and psychology are the two biggest reasons behind this phenomenon which can be tacked by governing authorities by providing employment and giving them counselling sessions in jails would help to combat this grave issue.

Admittedly, facing problems in finding suitable job after long time is the biggest reason behind this practice. That is to say, every employer checks the background of the employees while providing them a suitable position in the company, and a past offense can create a hurdle in getting a proper job. Therefore, they consider performing particular illegal activities, such as robberies of get money for leading a decent life. A recent survey conducted in my own city has shown that about 35% of thieves have spent some time in prisons. Apart from this, mental condition of individuals force them to do such kind of acts. In other words, criminals spend their time with the other offenders in the lock-ups, who cast an adverse effect on their minds, and they become rebellious by nature. Thus, their thought pattern give rise the chances of indulging in the anti-social activities.

In regard to the solutions, giving suitable jobs to the multitudes after releasing them from jail would assist to deal with this problem. Governing bodies should assure those society to get proper employment, so that they can earn to fulfill the rudimentary needs of themselves. Moreover, getting busy in their work would also prevent them from thinking negative. Furthermore, authorities should organize some awareness seminars in prisons, in which they should convince people to get rid of bad deeds, and also should provide individual sessions to change their mind patterns.

On balance, it has been concluded by a survey that people, who spend time behind the bars, are more prone to do the crimes after completing their punishments. This essay describes that lack of money and mind set of masses are the prominent reasons behind this trend, and government is responsible for tackling this adversity.