The range and quality of food that we can buy has changed because of technological and scientific advances. Some people regard this change as an improvement, while others believe that it is harmful. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, technology has dominated almost all aspects of human's lives and it is apparent in the food industry as well. People have different views on the issue of whether the recent technological progresses have positive impact on the quality of the food products that individuals use or not. Although there have been some advantages in these scientific achievements, I argue that it was not a positive scheme for some reasons.

There are some persuasive arguments in favor of the recent changes in the food chain. Firstly, it is believed that GM technology is the knowledge of maintaining the genes of crops which could remove the defects and makes them more resistant to the pests and diseases. Secondly, GM foods eradicated famine and shortage in less affluent countries such as African nations. Finally, scientists could add some beneficial vitamins to the foods and fruits that makes them more nutritious such as vitamin D and calcium. A salient example of this is the scarcity of vitamin D in Australia which could be diminished almost 40% by adding this vitamin to the people's milk.

On the other hand, the detrimental effects of this new technology and the expansion of GM food in the market should not be neglected since it had some adverse impacts on the environment by contaminating the nearby crops. Furthermore, the results of consumption of these products are not explicit and the future consequences are not vivid to anyone. To support my claim, I can refer to an article having been published in Times magazine, indicates that in 2008 the majority of maze crops in USA had been destroyed due to the maintaining the genes by scientists which brought a severe scarcity in this food source that is one of the significant exports of this country.

In conclusion, not only the unknown results of such researches and manipulations on the people's health but also the clear effects on the environment lead to some negative attitudes to this achievements and make people cynical.