Reading is more educational than watching videos or TV.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Learning via online videos is gaining popularity amongst the younger generation. It’s the thought that one can acquire knowledge by reading books rather than visual communication. In my opinion, I partly agree that reading is the best source of medium for educational purpose.

The proponents of reading strongly advocates that students should give more importance to academic reading materials such as university authorized books and research papers. They also argue that digital contents can be used as introduction purpose and never for core subject matters. For instance, there are many YouTube videos available on human anatomy, but one can never become a doctor by seeing those videos. Core knowledge of any subject can be gained via reading only. Some studies show that there are more brain activities, during reading than seeing television or any visual medium.

On the other hand, some people grasp more information from visual than books. Reading needs more concentration and efforts to understand any education concepts. Instead of going thru hundred pages one can acquire same level information by seeing a two minute video. For example, a three minute video will teach Newton’s law faster than school physics book. Also, digital medium makes learning fun and exciting. This feature attracts numerous children. A substantial amount of time and effort can be saved by using this approach.

To sum up, Digital medium can be used for academic purpose and it is as effective as books and research papers. But not all subjects can be taught using videos and televisions. Important curriculums need to be learned using reading with required focus and attention.