In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Recently people have tended to go to the chain stores or malls to purchase the goods, which led to the closure of the local markets. In my opinion, although there is an advantage for buyers in such tendency, generally, it is a more negative change.

On the one hand, customers usually get a better deal when buying from shopping malls. As long as large stores can purchase goods in huge quantities they are able to sell them at lower prices. To illustrate this, when malls appeared in my country, people realized the difference in the cost of necessities and preferred buying from malls than from small shops.

On the other hand, the development of large shopping centers causes ineffective economics in the area. The local businesses play a vital role in the creation of employment positions. Thus, if they stop working, a lot of people lose their income. For example, when a small local shop of dairy products near my house closed, the farm, that supplied it, faced with financial problems, because the dairy store was their main sales market. So they were forced to shorten personnel.

Another negative factor in the extension of large stores is that, usually, they provide lower-quality products than the local markets. Obviously, it is much easier to maintain a greater quality of goods or services in small businesses, because owners meet clients in person and check products by themselves. For instance, many local shops issue questionnaires to ask their customers if there is something they would love to change in the service they acquire.

in conclusion, even though, usually, large shopping centers can boast better prices for customers, the benefits of local stores, like high-quality products and more positive influence on the local economics, outweigh the pluses of large stores.