In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

These days large shopping centers and luxury malls are replaced with small and traditional shops. Customers are willing to purchase stuff from big malls as well. Therefore, small shops have closed.

On the one hand, it is a positive development. Firstly, since malls have wide range of goods and various brands, customers could buy everything that they need and compare with other goods. In addition, they can benefit from different promotion which there are launched on a monthly basis. Secondly, large shopping centers are equipped and there have kids section, international restaurants and cafes. Consequently, customer can take full advantage of these places. For example, children can play in kids zone and parents spend some quality time with each other in cafes. Thirdly, mall might lead to reducing traffic because malls provide customers with free parking. Thus, they do not compel to park their cars in the streets.

On another hand, it can be negative development. The main reason is that large shopping centers cause to consumerism. Since large shopping centers are full of different stuffs, costumers are more likely to purchase exceedingly. Consequently, it can encourage the consumerism behavior in the society. Another reason is that when small shops have closed, a vast number of people might become unemployment. Therefore, it can increase the unemployment rate in community. Moreover, from cultural perspective big malls might destroy remained buildings and historical gardens because for building these malls, builder need to destroy old areas in the cities.

In conclusion, from my point of view neighborhoods with small shops are more lively than fancy malls where there are full of customers who buy goods more than they need.