In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. In this a positive or negative development?

Global brands are capturing a larger section of the market, making independent outlets outdated. Most people prefer a modern shopping experience to a local market area. In this essay, I will discuss the merits and demerits of the recent progression of shopping preferences.

Massive shopping malls facilitate a large number of brands and commodities under one roof. It has become extremely convenient for shoppers to buy several things at a time with the luxury of a pleasant environment and facilities such as parking and hygiene. Masses are assured quality products which they feel is value for their money.

Having said that, the local artisans and cottage industry is adversely affected by the latest shopping culture. Independent retails are unable to compete with the heavy discounts offered at these malls. For instance, people are often bargaining and asking for discounts from small stores and shops.

On the flip side, traditional art and handmade crafts are slowly withering away and these artisans are running into losses. Online shopping websites have further narrowed their opportunities of surviving the competition. For example, online stores offer home delivery services, quick methods of payment and easy exchange policy. A majority of the working class finds this convenience and time-saving.

In conclusion, shopping malls are overtaking primitive markets. Furthermore, craftsmen and artists are emerging at newer attractive platforms such as flea markets and exhibitions at city centers. A conscious effort to sustain the craftsmanship and rural artisans should be made by featuring them in the local newspapers and creating awareness of their retail stalls. Hence, malls may be attractive but the local shops are authentic and ethnic.