Task -2

Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they have married or single.

Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge.

At least 250 words.

Employees are often enquired of their private details, including their extracurricular activities and their marital status. Some consider this information unnecessary, while others take no offense to it. In my opinion, a company should only be entitled to information about the job requirement.

On one hand, some professionals have no objection with regard to providing their personal information for a mandatory background check. It is a procedure essentially carried out to avoid frauds and malpractices of any kind. Personal data is collected to redeem private benefits, for example, a company may sponsor a holiday for an efficient performer and his family. Verification of personal information to make sure their authenticity enables an organization to choose the most suitable candidates.

On the other hand, a majority of the working class consider submitting queries about themselves, as privacy is intruded. Companies must also sign a privacy contract to safeguard their employees from any threat. They opine that such information creates a biased attitude among an organization. This is unhealthy for a good work environment. For instance, a colleague could be disrespectful towards his subordinate on knowing his unfortunate family background.

In my view, employees must coöperate with their work authority and follow rules that ensure their safety and offer other employee benefits. I believe there is a distinction between personal and professional life. Opportunities are created if the organization is aware of the capabilities and talents its workforce possesses. A good example could be of organizations, annually felicitated the extraordinary performers and create a platform for others to exhibit their hobbies.

A successful organization will always focus on the pertinent skill required to function smoothly and follow a good work ethic.