In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping center or mall to do their shopping.

Is this a positive or a negative development?

These days, people prefer patronizing bigger shopping centers for their shopping needs than buying from smaller shops in their neighbourhood. In my opinion, these advancement is more detrimental than the benefits because it could lead to increased rate of poverty and higher cost of goods.

To elucidate, the most important disadvantage of shopping at the malls is that, it would lead to closure of the smaller shops. this is because there would be few customers patronizing them, the income made by these stores would not be enough to support the cost incurred on running the business. The business owners would need to find alternative means of making money to sustain their family and if not well managed could lead to increase in the poverty rate in the economy. For instance, a family who sells daily needs items in the store outside their house, if not patronized they would be unable to pay for their children school fees or meet their daily needs.

Furthermore, another important issue shopping from big stores could cause is inflation. People in the society would be chasing the few goods available in the malls, thereby causing the malls to increase the prices of items to reduce the huge demands. Generally, this would lead to reduction in the standard of living of the people. because, only few people would be able to afford paying so much. I think this is also a negative development for individuals and the society.

All in all, big shopping malls are good as they offer avenue to meet new people, relaxation could be promoted and business ideas, but the overdependence on them by the populace is detrimental to the development of the society.