In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping center or mall to do their shopping.

Is this a positive or a negative development?

ome people argue that micro businesses have been shutting down because of advent of large shopping centres. Although I accept that shopping malls offer a lot in terms of shopping experience, I also believe that shutting down of local stores has some impact local communities.

The downfall of small business has, without a doubt, troubled the society. Clearly, many shopkeepers, struggling to up keep the competition, had their businesses shut. these people, especially the elderly, mostly lacking the skill sets or a degree, have ended up resorting to meager jobs. To add to their misery, their families have been bearing the brunt of adverse future hung upon them. In addition to, the malls only have few stores, so not many would be able to secure a place for their ventures. so, the wealth is being accumulated in few hands. Overall, small retailers have been overshadowed by big investors.

On the other side, shopping malls has brought about a major shift in the shopping experience of the public. To address the tastes of the public, they offer a wider variety, under one roof, unlike regular markets. Further, this single window system not only provides a hassle free system from buying, trying and checking out but also accommodates other businesses as well. For instance, food courts, cinemas, children’s play games, parking and so on. Thus, the customers never goes away without spending a penny.

In conclusion, there are both upsides and downsides of inaugurating of big ventures like these. It is the shopkeepers who have to perform up with the pace of the ever changing arena of the market.