In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping.

Isthis a positive or a negative development.

Small shops, small kind of businesses with a limited range of products, should be taken the highly consideration. Nowadays, it is measured that several small stores are shut-down because of the high trend of opening huge shopping centers where most of the customers are going to. I partially agree that constructing new malls or centralized the products in one place is more beneficial to many customers, but we cannot deny the negative outcomes of closing such small businesses. This essay will discuss the impact on customers as one of the advantages and outlining the detrimental effect on local shops owners as the main disadvantage, followed by a reasoned conclusion.

Shopping is a main activity for people in all countries, and it takes long time from them to find their needs in the market. When people have a list of different products, such as foodstuff, cloths, and etcetera to be purchased, they may visit several places far from each other. The idea of malls or large shopping centers is to minimize the wasting time of shopping and benefit the customers to find variety of products and goods in the same place. For instance, developed countries consider the malls as an essential facility in their design while plan for new cities where in Dubai, Burj Khalifa is considered one of the biggest shopping centers in the middle east.

On contrary, the impact of closing small local shops reflects on their owners and small cities where they have not hyper market in place . Owner can sustain to run his or her business for some time, but they suffer from the high rate of customers who accustomed to shop only from large markets. People who live in small cities could not find their basic foodstuff due to the closing of such business. Therefore, people must travel long distance to buy the essential foodstuffs.

To sum up, current development in the cities on the hyper markets is positive for some people, but it is undeniable that small business is extremely important for other. Government should balance the market with both types by regulation and rules.