In recent years , many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping.Is this a positive or negative development ?

Of late, it is clearly evident that more and more shoppers are inclined to do shopping in fancy shopping malls rather buying it from local shopkeepers. As a result of this, local shop owners had to close their business. I would look this trend as negative development and I will discuss about my observations in this essay.

One serious problem that can arise from this trend is financial diversity. If shoppers are buying the products in large shopping malls, the money would go into the pockets of multi billionaire companies and there could be a possibility that this money would never come back to the society again. On the other hand, if we started purchasing it from local vendors the money would circulate in local country and subsequently it will boost the country economy.

The second issue is that; the end buyer will have to spend fortune of amount in buying their needs. What I mean here is, will increase the price of the MRP to cover their losses in building the malls and to gain the maximum profit. Wherein the other hand, this won’t be the case with local vendors, because they don’t sale for profits they sale to survive. For example, if we are buying an apple from the malls that would cost around $5, but we can purchase the same apple for $2-$3 from local shops. At the end of the day, if we compare all the product the buyer will be at loss and at the same time the local vendor too. The only one who get benefited from this corporate companies.

I strongly condemn this new trend and urge the people to start consider the local buyers instead of purchasing it from malls. Also, I request government to take steps to promote and help local shopkeepers.