In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping.

Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent years, there has been a tremendous upsurge in the number of shopping centers. This revolution has been welcomed by many people and has led to the closure of several small shops in the locality. In my view, this is a positive development, and in this essay, I will support my opinion with examples.

One of the main reasons why these malls prove to be an asset is that they not only offer their customers a spectrum of products and services under one roof but also provide them a relaxed and improved shopping experience. As a result, people do not have to travel from one shop to another for their different needs. For example, most of the shopping malls are now equipped with stores which not only fulfills their household requirements such as groceries, dairy products, etc. but also serve their recreational demands such as multi-cuisine food courts and air-conditioned cinema halls. If these malls did not exist, it would have become a tedious job for people to wander from one place to another for their shopping needs.

Another significant reason is that these malls bring with them more employment opportunities. Right from the construction of the mall building, till the maintenance of the stores, these shopping centers have become a source of bread and butter for many. To illustrate, in a report published in “The Economic Times”, it was shown that the number of people employed in malls is five times more in comparison with the local shops. Had these malls not existed, it would have been difficult to employ these many people, eventually rendering many people unemployed.

In conclusion, I concur that as the shopping malls save a lot of shopping time of their customers with the incredible shopping experience and the job opportunities these shopping malls bring with them, it is undeniable that this is a favorable development.