In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping.Is this a positive or negative development?

It is now very common that we see the small local businesses are closing and they give way to chain stores and department stores where people mostly prefer to go shopping. There are large malls throughout the cities and even in the suburbs, and people commute to these places eagerly to purchase. Although such improvements has recently benefited people, I also see some limited downsides.

On the one hand, the new development has helped people in different ways. Firstly, large shopping centers make it easier for people to have everything in front of their eyes. Therefore, it is faster and time-consuming for a customer to find an item and it is simply possible to remember even the unnecessary items that someone might need. Secondly, there are a number of brands available which provide a variety of selection for buyers. Thirdly, because of the vast majority of shopping, there would be always some special offers that the customer could benefit from. Despite the facts mentioned above, it could have a merit from economic point of view. There would be an opportunity for employment as there is always a demand for new staff in these places.

On the other hand, like many other developments, this kind of evolution might also have negative aspects. Some products are heavily hyped in these large markets and it makes people to be tempted to buy the things that they do not really need. In other words, these places persuade people to be a real consumer which could have negative cultural and economic consequences in societies. The other thing is about the prices that are more negotiable and reasonable in local shops compared to malls and large shopping centers.

In conclusion, although the new development has been beneficial in many ways, I believe that there is the downside which is worth thinking of.