In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping.

Is this a positive or negative development ?

it is indubitable that, nowdays more and more customers are moving to large shopping centres and mall rather than the small shops, and this has forced these shops to close. In my opinion this is a negative development which can make people lose their jobs and also it may affect the tourism.

one big reason behind to closure of small shop is that the competition between the small shops and the large shopping center. As a result the large mall Start providing discounts on the goods as they do not face compition. for example, small offer discounts throughout the year to keep their customer away from the small shops. Thus, the closure of small shops will affect the customers.

However, shopping mall has been provided all types of goods under the one roof, moreover there is no need to go different shop to buy different things. And also shopping mall would provide excellent facilities for customer such as kids play area, best environment, all goods have seprate section and so on. Therefore all this reason create major impact on small shops.

Another issue is that many people will lose their job and become unemployed. In other words, when the small shops close, people employed by them will lose their source of income, and that will put them in difficult situations. For example, many families run small shopstoearn their living.when they go out of business, their families will struggle to survive.

Finally , the closure of small shop in some places affect the tourism industry.Tourist wants local products to buy but many local shops are closed because of no product Sellling.

In conclusion, although it has become easier for people to do shopping in one large center, the closure of small shop has originate to many problems.