In recent years, there has been a considerable rise in crimes committed by young
people in cities.
What has caused this? What solutions can you suggest?
It must be accepted that nowadays, there has been a significant increase in episodes
of offences committed by the young especially in the urban areas. This is a fearful situation.
There are many reasons for such a situation; however, a few productive suggestions can solve
the situation to a large extent. The causes and the measures are discussed further.
Examining the reasons, the most common is to live up and enjoy the glamour of the
big city. It has been observed that young people get easily obsessed with all the pleasures of urban life such as the discos, the clubs and other fun attractions. For this they need money
and so to earn fast bucks, they commit a crime. The other prime reason is drugs and alcohol.
Commit crime out of a strong desire to fulfil their habits. Poverty and unemployment in this
age group are other driving forces for the offences.
However, a few measures can really help to overcome the situation. The most
important step is to keep strict vigilance at public places and place of entertainment. Closed
circuit cameras, more police force, special police patrolling at night, for instance, can
effectively help to reduce criminal activities. Another suggestion is to try and bifurcate the
youth energy constructively, by organizing events such as dance competitions, treasure hunts,
marathons and other fulfilled activities. Creating more part-time jobs and raising education
level among young people can also help in a large way to reduce crime by the young.
All in all, it can be said that certainly there are swelling numbers of crime in the
meteors and cities. To live up to the glamour and earn fast money – young people commit a crime. However, strict vigilance and bifurcating youth energy can help remedy the situation. I
believe, this debate must be considered on a serious note.