Some people think that men are naturally more competitive than women. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People often compare the abilities of men, and women and claim those women are not as competitive as men. I do not agree with this opinion. In my opinion, women are just as competitive as men and they have proved their mettle in almost all spheres.

At school, girl students routinely outperform boy students. If they were not competitive, they would not be able to achieve this. In various competitive examinations also girls perform as well as boys. If we compare a female doctor or a female scientist with their male counterparts we can see that in terms of skills they are on a par with each other.

Women have already proved that they can do any job. They now work in almost every field. They even work in aviation and defence. Traditionally, these jobs were thought to be suitable for only men. Even in the conservative Arabian countries, women are now allowed to join armed forces. This is a clear indication that women are capable of doing justice to whatever role they perform. Women are also showing exceptional managerial skills. For instance, many multinational companies are successfully managed by women. Women have also proved that they can make excellent leaders. In countries like the United Kingdom, Germany and Bangladesh women are at the top political positions. Some of the most loved and remembered politicians in history are actually women. Obviously, women are not inferior to men in any field.

Yet, a question may arise why there are not many women in research, politics or business. In my opinion, this is not because they are not competitive. Women have certain biological and psychological duties that only they can perform. Giving birth and raising children are just some of them. Because of these reasons, many women quit their jobs and that probably explains why we do not see a lot of female politicians or business tycoons. In order to establish themselves in such fields, women have to dedicate their lives to their career. Unlike men, this is not always possible for a woman because her other responsibilities as a daughter, wife and mother stand in the way of her career goals. However, just because women are quitting their jobs to start a family and raise kids, it does not mean that they are less competitive than men.

In conclusion, after analyzing all aspects of the given situation, it is not hard to see that women are just as capable and competent as men. If there are fewer female achievers than male achievers, that is because women tend to sacrifice their career for the sake of their family.