Recently, abortion increases rapidly and becomes a controversial topic. Some people suppose that abortion should be legal while others are against it.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Bringing a life into this world is one of the most splendid experiences for a mother. But there are a lot of cases these days where ladies undergo abortion during pregnancy and is a very controversial topic where people have strong opinions. We will discuss in this essay why abortion should be made legal with some controls in place even though there are points to counter it.

Certainly there are a lot of negative aspects of undergoing an abortion. Foremost is the notion that it is in reality killing of a life after 16 weeks as the child starts developing organs post that period. There have been research that suggest after 24 weeks he or she starts to develop a heart. Secondly, it harmfully affects the health of mother as well in case the feotus has grown over 20 weeks. Many of his or her organs get attached to the mother’s womb and at this point if abortion is done, it may lead to the lady being unable to bear a child again.

Though there are points to counter it, but there are reasons why such cases are growing in recent times. Firstly, as the number of young people doing sex have increased, the number of teenage pregnancies have also increased despite education about protected sex. In such scenarios, a girl is not strong enough mentally and physically to deliver a child. Secondly, as the number of women participating in corporate world is increasing, the average age of delivery is also increasing. In case she is not mentally ready because of her priorities towards corporate life over taking a maternity leave or nurturing a child, we should respect it. The legal system should be designed in such a way so as to ensure that for scenarios like above, ladies have the option to decide for abortion up till a point, without sacrificing her safety.

Therefor to conclude, after having discussed the harmful impacts of abortion as well as why it is required in certain scenarios, I am of the opinion that abortion should be legally allowed with certain guardrails to ensure safety of the mother.