Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life.

Researchers believe that our personality and development are dependant on the conditions we are born in rather than the experiences we have in our lives. I believe that the situations we go through have a greater impact on our character and personality and this essay will discuss my views on this.

It is true that genetics do play an important role in the way we develop. For example, on one hand, a mother who smokes cigarettes and drinks alcohol will obviously have a negative impact ln the way a child is born. Sometimes, this negligence can lead to severe damage resulting in conditions like autism, down syndrome and other birth-related diseases. On the other hand, a mother who is extremely cautious during her pregnancy has a greater chance of having a healthy offspring who could grow up to be a good person.

But the upbringing of a child and the experiences he/she has growing up has a greater influence on the way they turn out to be. Even if a person is born with a very optimistic attitude and the people around him are pessimists, there is a good chance that the person's attitude might turn into a pessimistic one. In the same way, if a person is born to a criminal, the upbringing of that person can help him to not become one himself as he could learn a lesson from the mistakes of his criminal parents and avoid making them.

In conclusion, I feel that even though the characteristics that we are born with do have an effect on our personality, the lessons we learn from our experience and surrounding have a greater impact on our character.